AVIATION Infrastructure News & Reports Water Resources

Ten urban towns in Delta to get boost in potable water supply as Governor approves completion of Koko Mini Sports Arena

Ten urban towns in Delta State are to get a boost in the provision of potable water supply following the approval of the state Executive Council for the construction of five-kilometer water pipeline extension.

The state Commissioner for Information, Chief Patrick Ukah, disclosed this on Wednesday March 20th 2019 at a press briefing held in Government House, Asaba, after the state Executive Council meeting which was presided over by the Governor, Senator Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa. He said that the approval was to ameliorate the effects of water scarcity in the towns.

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa

According to the Commissioner, the towns are Issele Uku, Patani, Oghara-Efe, Ozoro, Kwale, Koko, Orerokpe, Burutu, Obiaruku and Ogwashi Uku. Chief Patrick Ukah said that the Council also approved the completion of the construction of obstacle-free zone for the runway of the Asaba International Airport (Sectors A and C) as part of measures to fulfil the requirements of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) for the upgrade of the airport.

Chief Ukah said the renovation/remodeling of the Clinical Building at the Delta State University Teaching Hospital, Oghara, Ethiope East Local Government Area and the completion of outstanding works on the construction of the Mini Sports Arena, Koko in Warri North Local Government Area were also approved.

The construction of Bethel Oborevwori Crescent/Humphrey Odili Street, Osubi to link James Ovie Street in Okuokoko, and the construction of Okuomowa Road, Osubi to link Etakpo Lane/Macnero Road, Okuokoko both in Okpe Local Government Area were also approved.

Other roads approved are the completion of Effurun   Otor/Iwhrekekan/Ughewughe/Eruemukohwaren/Otor-Edo/Usiefurun (phase 1) in Ughelli South Local Government Area and the construction/rehabilitation of Owhe-Ologbo internal roads (Phase I) in Isoko North Local Government Area.

Also included are the construction of Ebise Road, Ekrudo Road and Odumere Road, all in Oria Abraka in Ethiope East Local Government Area, alongside the construction/rehabilitation of internal roads in Orogun such as Hospital Road and Ossai Road.

The Council equally approved the appointment of HRM, Emmanuel Warewini Arikawei as the Ebenanaowei of Obotebe Kingdom in Burutu Local Government Area.

Facebook Comments

Stories you may like